The OHS Pipe Organ Database

St. John the Baptist R.C. Basilica
627 McKinley Avenue NW
Canton, Ohio 44703

OHS Database ID 29386.

See the address on Google Maps.

Status and Condition

The organ is in an unaltered state from its installation as described on this page.
The organ is in good condition and in regular use.
We received the most recent update on this organ's state and condition September 1, 2015.

Technical Details

Direct electric/electro-mechanical chests.

Four manuals. 6 divisions. 64 stops. 101 registers. 79 ranks. 4365 pipes. Manual compass is 61 notes. Pedal compass is 32 notes.

The organ is in a gallery-level case at the rear of the room. Traditional style console. The console is movable.

Drawknobs in vertical rows on angled jambs. Balanced swell shoes/pedals, standard AGO placement. Combination Action: Computerized/Digital system. AGO Standard (concave radiating) pedalboard. Reversible full organ/tutti thumb piston. Reversible full organ/tutti toe stud. Combination action thumb pistons. Combination action toe studs. Coupler reversible thumb pistons. Coupler reversible toe studs.


  • Identified through online information from Stephen Hall. -- Rebuild of 1978/1980 Charles Ross organ, which contained pipe work from two vintage Skinner instruments (Opus 221 and Opus 452). New consoles (main 4 manual in gallery and remote 2 manual in chancel), new case work, additional ranks, mechanical restoration/replacements and tonal finishing by Kegg. Organ is in regular use for services and recitals (2007). (Database Manager. October 5, 2007)
  • Updated through online information from Charles Kegg. -- Some pipes were used from the previous instrument. All chests, structure, case and many pipes were new in 2004 (Database Manager. January 18, 2011)
  • Updated through online information from T. Daniel Hancock. (Database Manager. November 17, 2011)
  • Updated through online information from Robert Sullivan. (Database Manager. January 25, 2013)
  • St. John the Baptist Church was elevated to a minor basilica on June 19, 2012. (Steven E. Lawson. June 14, 2015)
  • Updated through online information from Robert Sullivan. (Database Manager. September 1, 2015)

Online Documents

Currently we have no online documents associated with this organ entry. If you can provide us with digital files of contracts, correspondence, dedication programs, or any similar items, please follow this link to our document upload form to send them to us.

If you would like more information about documents included in the Database, please see our Documents Information page.

Related Database Entries

As a matter of best practice, we maintain separate entries each time an organ is modified or relocated. Click a link to go to descriptions of other phases in this instrument's life.

Other Websites

Clicking on a link will open the website in a new window or tab.
Please note that we are not responsible for dead links.


Click on a thumbnail to see the larger image in a new tab.

Case, 2004.. Photograph by Robert Sullivan
Gallery Console, 2004.. Photograph by Robert Sullivan

If you can provide us with additional photographs, you may upload them through our online form. For further information please see our expectations for adding photographs.



When they are available, stoplists for organs are included in the Database. To make corrections in stoplists that you see here, please send details via e-mail to rather than submitting a new stoplist through our online form.

  • The American Organist, November 2011, Volume 45, No. 11
    GREAT - Manual II
    16’  Violone 
    8’   Principal 
    8’   Hohlflute 
    8’   Bourdon 
    8’   ‘Cello 
    8’   Gemshorn 
    5-1/3’ Rohrquinte 
    4’   Octave 
    4’   Koppelflute 
    2-2/3’ Twelfth 
    2’   Fifteenth 
    1-3/5’ Seventeenth 
         Fourniture IV
    16’  Contra Trumpet TC (ext)
    8’   Trumpet 
    4’   Clarion 
    SWELL - Manual III
    16’  Lieblich Gedeckt 
    8’   Open Diapason 
    8’   Gedeckt 
    8’   Clarabella 
    8’   Salicional 
    8’   Voix Celeste 
    8’   Aeoline 
    8’   Unda Maris TC 
    4’   Octave 
    4’   Flute 
    2-2/3’ Nazard 
    2’   Flautino
    1-3/5’ Tierce 
         Plein Jeu IV
         Scharf IV
    16’  Double Trumpet 
    16’  Oboe TC (ext)
    8’   Trumpet (ext)
    8’   Oboe 
    8’   Vox Humana 
    4’   Clarion 
    CHOIR - Manual I
    8’   Open Diapason 
    8’   Stopped Flute 
    8’   Spitzflute 
    8’   Flute Celeste TC 
    8’   Dolce 
    8’   Dolce Celeste TC 
    4’   Octave 
    4’   Flute 
    2’   Piccolo 
    1-1/3’ Larigot 
    1’   Sifflute 
    8’   Cornopean 
    8’   Clarinet 
    8’   Tuba Mirabilis (So)
    SOLO – Manual IV
    8’   Doppelflute 
    8’   Gross Gamba 
    8’   Gross Gamba Celeste 
    4’   Hohlpfeife 
    8’   Orchestral Oboe 
    8’   English Horn 
    8’   Neumann Trumpet (Chamade)
    8’   Tuba Mirabilis 
    16’  Contra Trumpet (Gt)
    8’   Trumpet (Gt)
    8’   Cornopean (Ch)
    8’   Oboe (Sw)
    8’   Clarinet (Ch)
    4’   Clarion (Gt)
         Chimes (Gt)
         String FF Ensemble
         String PP Ensemble
         Unison Ensemble
         Reed Ensemble
    ANTIPHONAL - Floating
    8’   Gedeckt 
    8’   Salicional 
    8’   Voix Celeste TC 
    8’   Flute Celeste II 
    8’   Unda Maris II 
    4’   Octave 
    4’   Flute (ext)
    4’   Unda Maris II (ext)
    8’   Vox Humana 
    8’   Trumpet Magna 
    32’  Bourdon *
    32’  Lieblich Gedeckt *
    16’  Open Diapason 
    16’  Bourdon 
    16’  Violone (Gt)
    16’  Lieblich Gedeckt (Sw)
    16’  Dulciana 
    8’   Octave (ext)
    8’   Swell Diapason 
    8’   Choir Diapason 
    8’   ‘Cello (Gt)
    8’   Bourdon (ext)
    8’   Dulciana (ext)
    4’   Super Octave (ext)
    4’   Still Flute (ext)
    32’  Contra Trombone 
    32’  Harmonics (derived)
    16’  Trombone ext)
    16’  Trumpet (sw)
    8’   Tromba (ext)
    4’   Clarion (ext)
    4’   Clarinet (Ch)
    4’   Oboe (Sw)
    * 12 notes electronic
    All standard American couplers
    4 manual main console in gallery
    2 manual auxillary console on Nave floor
     [Received from T. Daniel Hancock 2011-11-17.]
  • Click Here The American Organist, November 2011, Volume 45, No. 11 Plain text; will open in a new window or tab.