The OHS Pipe Organ Database

First Congregational United Church of Christ
1400 East Main Street
Kent, Ohio 44240

OHS Database ID 41808.

See the address on Google Maps.

Status and Condition

The organ has been altered from the original installation as described here.
The organ is in good condition and in regular use.
We received the most recent update on this organ's state and condition September 5, 2013.

Technical Details

Electric key action. Electric stop action.

Three manuals. 34 stops. 43 ranks.

The organ is in center chambers at the front of the room with visible façade pipes or case front. Non-traditional style console. The console is movable.

Stop keys above top manual. Balanced swell shoes/pedals, standard AGO placement. Combination Action: Computerized/Digital system. AGO Standard (concave radiating) pedalboard. Reversible full organ/tutti thumb piston. Reversible full organ/tutti toe stud. Combination action thumb pistons. Combination action toe studs. Coupler reversible toe studs.


  • Identified through research conducted by Sand Lawn, courtesy of David Scribner. (Database Manager. August 16, 2009)
  • Updated through online information from Stephen Hall. -- 2011 new combination action, additional ranks added; work possibly done by Holtkamp (implied but not stated in online article dated 8/29/2011 in Recital planned for September 11th. Original organ was Opus 1621 II/20 installed in 1944. Rebuilt as Opus 1910 III/32 in 1974/75. Holtkamp website does not list beyond 2010; the 2011 console renovation was done by Schantz. (Database Manager. September 12, 2011)
  • Updated through online information from Ryan Croyle. (Database Manager. September 5, 2013)

Online Documents

Currently we have no online documents associated with this organ entry. If you can provide us with digital files of contracts, correspondence, dedication programs, or any similar items, please follow this link to our document upload form to send them to us.

If you would like more information about documents included in the Database, please see our Documents Information page.

Related Database Entries

As a matter of best practice, we maintain separate entries each time an organ is modified or relocated. Click a link to go to descriptions of other phases in this instrument's life.

Other Websites

The database contains no links to external websites that describe this organ. If you know of any sites that contain information about it, please use the Update form to send us the URL.


Click on a thumbnail to see the larger image in a new tab.

Chancel. Photograph by Ryan Croyle 2013-09-03
Organ Case. Photograph by Ryan Croyle 2013-09-03
Console. Photograph by Ryan Croyle 2013-09-03
Couplers. Photograph by Nik Stackpole 2019-11-09
Builder's Nameplate. Photograph by Nik Stackpole 2019-11-09
Choir and Great stops. Photograph by Nik Stackpole 2019-11-09
Swell and Pedal stops. Photograph by Nik Stackpole 2019-11-09
Console. Photograph by Nik Stackpole 2019-11-09
Pipework. Photograph by Nik Stackpole 2019-11-09

If you can provide us with additional photographs, you may upload them through our online form. For further information please see our expectations for adding photographs.



When they are available, stoplists for organs are included in the Database. To make corrections in stoplists that you see here, please send details via e-mail to rather than submitting a new stoplist through our online form.

  • Stoplist courtesy of the Schantz Organ Co.
        Kent, Ohio
        Kent United Church of Christ
        Holtkamp   Op. 1621   1944   2/20
        Holtkamp   Op. 1910   1975   3/43
    16' Pommer        61           8' Copula          61
     8' Principal     61           4' Principal       61
     8' Gedackt       61 *         4' Rohrflöte       61
     4' Octave        61           2' Blockflöte      61
     4' Spitzflöte    61 *     1 1/3' Larigot         61 *
     2' Super Octave  61      II-III  Scharff        183 *
    IV  Mixture      244 *         8' Cromone         61
     8' Trumpet       61
                                  32' Soubasse         5 *
     8' Rohrflöte     61 *        16' Principal       32 *
     8' Gamba         61          16' Octave Soubasse 32
     8' Voix Celeste  61 *        16' Pommer          GT
     4' Bourdon       61           8' Octave          32 *
     2' Principal     61           8' Flute           32 *
    II  Cornet       122 *         4' Choralbass      32
    IV  Cymbal       244         III  Rauschquinte    96
    16' Dulzian       61          16' Posaune         32
     8' Fagott        61           4' Schalmey        32 *
     *  retained from Op. 1621
           [Received from Jeff Scofield July 23, 2015]
  • Click Here Stoplist courtesy of the Schantz Organ Co. Plain text; will open in a new window or tab.