The OHS Pipe Organ Database

Second Congregational Church
Holyoke, Massachusetts

OHS Database ID 22091.

Status and Condition

The organ has been destroyed and is no longer extant.
We received the most recent update on this organ's state and condition November 29, 2005.

Technical Details

Four manuals.


  • Identified through information adapted from E. M. Skinner/Aeolian-Skinner Opus List, by Sand Lawn and Allen Kinzey (Organ Historical Society, 1997), and included here through the kind permission of Sand Lawn:
    Rebuild of 1894 Geo. S. Hutchings, #327; burned on March 24, 1919; replaced by #322. (Database Manager. November 29, 2005)

Online Documents

Currently we have no online documents associated with this organ entry. If you can provide us with digital files of contracts, correspondence, dedication programs, or any similar items, please follow this link to our document upload form to send them to us.

If you would like more information about documents included in the Database, please see our Documents Information page.

Related Database Entries

As a matter of best practice, we maintain separate entries each time an organ is modified or relocated. Click a link to go to descriptions of other phases in this instrument's life.

Other Websites

Clicking on a link will open the website in a new window or tab.
Please note that we are not responsible for dead links.


Currently we have no photographs of this organ in the Database.

If you can provide us with photographs, you may upload them through our online form. For further information please see our expectations for adding photographs.

Your help in enhancing the Database will be greatly appreciated.


Pipe organs in Massachusetts sponsored by Mssrs. Czelusniak et Dugal.


When they are available, stoplists for organs are included in the Database. To make corrections in stoplists that you see here, please send details via e-mail to rather than submitting a new stoplist through our online form.

  • Stoplist from OHS Archives, via Jonathan Bowen
    Holyoke, Massachusetts
    Second Congregational Church
    Skinner Organ Company   Opus 167   1909   4 manuals, 75 registers, 53 ranks
    The contract was for the rebuilding of 1894 Geo. S. Hutchings, Op. 327
                GREAT ORGAN                          SWELL ORGAN
            16' Diapason                         16' Bourdon
             8' First Diapason                   16' Bourdon Bass
             8' Second Diapason                   8' Diapason
             8' Third Diapason                    8' Gedackt
             8' Erzähler                          8' Salicional
             8' Doppel Flute                      8' Vox Celeste
             8' Philomela (Solo)                  8' Quintadena
             4' Octave                            8' Aeoline
             4' Flute                             8' Unda Maris
         2 2/3' Quinte                            4' Fugara
             2' Fifteenth                         4' Flute
            IV  Mixture                           2' Flautino
             8' Tuba                              V  Mixture
                                                 16' Fagotto
                CHOIR ORGAN                       8' Cornopean
            16' Dulciana                          8' Oboe
             8' Geigen Principal                  8' Vox Humana
             8' Spitz Flute                          Tremolo
             8' Melodia
             8' Dulciana                             ECHO ORGAN
             4' Violina                           8' Clarabella
             4' Flute                             8' Dulciana
             2' Piccolo                           8' Unda Maris
             8' Clarinet                          8' Vox Humana
                SOLO ORGAN                           Carillons
            16' Bourdon
             8' Diapason                             PEDAL ORGAN
             8' Philomela                        32' Bourdon
             8' Gamba                            16' Diapason
             8' Concert Flute                    16' 1st Bourdon (Solo)
             8' Viole d'Orchestra                16' 2nd Bourdon
             8' Dulcet                           16' Violone
             4' Flute                            16' Contra Gamba 
             8' Tromba                       10 2/3' Quinte
             8' Orchestral Oboe                   8' Octave
             8' English Horn                      8' Gedackt (Solo)
                Tremolo                           8' Cello
            16' Euphonium *                      16' Trombone
             8' Tuba *                           16' Euphonium (Solo)
             4' Clarion *                         8' Tuba
                                                  8' Tromba (Solo)
             *  Enclosed in concrete swell box    4' Clarion
                and on 15" wind
    [Received from Steven E. Lawson  2016-08-29]
  • Click Here Stoplist from OHS Archives, via Jonathan Bowen Plain text; will open in a new window or tab.