The OHS Pipe Organ Database

Oberlin Conservatory of Music
Oberlin, Ohio 44074

Fairchild Chapel

OHS Database ID 8003.

Status and Condition

The state of this organ is unknown to the database, being undocumented or unreported.
(The last update we received about this organ was on the transfer of data from the OHS PC Database, October 30, 2004.)

Technical Details

Slider chests. Suspended mechanical key action. Mechanical stop action.

Two manuals. 15 stops. 19 ranks. Manual compass is 56 notes. Pedal compass is 28 notes.


  • Status Note: There 1996. (OHS PC Database. October 30, 2004)
  • 1/4-comma meantone with 3 sub-semitones per octave. Tuned one whole-tone sharp to a440. Can be hand pumped. Dedicated 9/27/1981 by Harald Vogel. (OHS PC Database. October 30, 2004)
  • This project was completed in Spring 1981 and was developed by the Builder in coordination with ideas from David Boe, Dean, and Dr. William Porter, Professor of Organ and Harpsichord, Oberlin Conservatory of Music. (Database Manager. August 20, 2014)
  • Dedication took place on 27 September 1981; the inaugural recital was played by Harald Vogel with musicians, Stephen Stubbs, lute; Holger Eichhorn, cornetto; and Harry Geraerts, tenor. (Database Manager. August 20, 2014)

Online Documents

Currently we have no online documents associated with this organ entry. If you can provide us with digital files of contracts, correspondence, dedication programs, or any similar items, please follow this link to our document upload form to send them to us.

If you would like more information about documents included in the Database, please see our Documents Information page.


  • Schnurr, Jr., Stephen J.. "Oberlin Conservatory of Music," 2009 Organ Atlas: The City of Cleveland and Northern Ohio (pp. 172-185). [Photographs, stoplists]

Other Websites

The database contains no links to external websites that describe this organ. If you know of any sites that contain information about it, please use the Update form to send us the URL.


Click on a thumbnail to see the larger image in a new tab.

Gallery and Organ Case. Photograph by William T. Van Pelt 2008-06-25
Nave, Gallery, and Organ Case. Photograph by William T. Van Pelt 2008-06-25
Keydesk. Photograph by William T. Van Pelt 2008-06-25
Organ Case Detail. Photograph by William T. Van Pelt 2008-06-25
List of Builders. Photograph by William T. Van Pelt 2008-06-25
Bosworth Hall Exterior. Photograph by William T. Van Pelt 2008-06-25

If you can provide us with additional photographs, you may upload them through our online form. For further information please see our expectations for adding photographs.



When they are available, stoplists for organs are included in the Database. To make corrections in stoplists that you see here, please send details via e-mail to rather than submitting a new stoplist through our online form.

  • From Builder's web site and 2009 Organ Atlas: The City of Cleveland and Northern Ohio
    Oberlin, Ohio
    Oberlin College - Fairchild Chapel
    John Brombaugh & Associates   Opus 25   1981            2 manuals, 15 stops, 19 ranks
              WERCK - Manual I
           8' Præstant         52 a (CC, DD, FF# and GG# from Gedackt 8')
           8' Oak Principal    52   (CC, DD, FF# and GG# from Gedackt 8')
           8' Gedackt          56
           4' Octava           56
           4' Spitzpype        56
           2' Octava           56
           3' Quinta        ]
          II  Sesquialtera  ] 112 b
       V-VII  Mixtura         382
           8' Trommett         56 a
              BRUSTWERCK - Manual II
           8' Regal            45 (permanently engaged)
           3' Hohlquinta       31 (discant, from c') 
              This division patterned after the original pre-Schnitgerian Brustwerck
              in Lüdingworth, Niedersaxony, Germany.
          16' Subbass (wood)   28
           8' Præstant         WK
           8' Trommett         WK
    a Manual stops playable in Pedal by transmission
    b Quinta and Sesquialtera use one stop-knob with Quinta playing when full drawn
      Sesquialtera begins at c' or cis' at choice of organist to accommodate various
      compositional styles/requirements
    Organ tuned in pure 1/4 SC Meantone temperament with Subsemitonien eb/dis, 
    gis/ab & gis/bb on Werck & Pedal divisions
    Keyboard compasses: Werck, 52 notes: CDE - c ''' in "gebrockene Octav" form;
    Brustwerk, 50 notes: CDEFGA - c ''' in "kurz Octav" form;
    Pedal, 28 notes: CDE - d ' in Schnitgerian form
    Coupler: Werck / Pedal
    Tremulant to entire organ, adjustable
    Mechanical key action, suspended; mechanical stop action
    Metal flue pipes of finest lead/tin alloys, hammered and voiced for vocale sound
    Cone tuning used for open metal flue pipes; soldered domed hats for stopped metal pipes
    Reeds arranged for easy tuning by the organist
    Façade pipe mouths gilded with 23 carat goldleaf
    Wind system made with two wedge bellows which may be foot pumped in historic manner
    or may be winded by an electrical blower when desired.
    [Received from Steven E. Lawson  August 19, 2014]