Something not quite correct?Suggest an Edit
We are grateful for the generous support of our sponsors, who make it possible for us to continue our mission of preserving and promoting the rich history of pipe organs across the globe.
Something missing or not quite correct?Add ImageorSuggest an Edit
Something missing or not quite correct?Add StoplistorSuggest an Edit
Something missing or not quite correct?Add ConsoleorSuggest an Edit
In 1868 a cornmittee was appointed to procure an organ for Second Church, to cost $4,000. The organ, E. & G.G. Hook opus 499, was installed at the rear of the auditorium in 1869. Manual compass was fifty-eight notes (CC-a3); pedal compass (concave, parallel) was twenty-seven notes (CC-d1). -- 2007 OHS Atlas
According to the 2007 Organ Atlas, the organ was moved to front of building 1902 and probably electrified; ca. 1920 it was modified by Thomas Mielke of Indianapolis.
Identified from company publications as edited and expanded in The Hook Opus List 1829-1935, ed. William T. Van Pelt (Organ Historical Society, 1991).
Related Instrument Entries: Thomas Mielke (1920) , Geo. Kilgen & Son, Inc. (Opus 5923, 1937)
Something missing or not quite correct?Add NoteorAdd WebpageorAdd Cross ReferenceorSuggest an Edit