Something not quite correct?Suggest an Edit
We are grateful for the generous support of our sponsors, who make it possible for us to continue our mission of preserving and promoting the rich history of pipe organs across the globe.
Something missing?Add Image
Something missing or not quite correct?Add StoplistorSuggest an Edit
Something missing or not quite correct?Add ConsoleorSuggest an Edit
The original contract as stated in the church history published in 1897 lists the stops of the organ. There was an 8' Flaut Traver mentioned as well.
Updated by Philip T. D. Cooper, naming this as the source of information: Church History.
The stop list as published here omits one stop: Flauto Traver 8'. The organ, therefore, had 9 manual stops, 2 pedal stops and very likely a pedal coupler.
Updated through online information from T. Daniel Hancock. -- Bahr and Murphy, 2014, report that this installation was in the 1752 log building, and was relocated to the new Trinity Church, built of brick, in 1794. It was the first pipe organ in Reading, and cost 230 in Pennsylvania currency.
Updated through online information from T. Daniel Hancock. -- Philip T.D. Cooper writes on the "David Tannenberger, Organbuilder" website: "The manual and pedal compass are unknown. Most likely, there was a Coppel Pedal. The organ was replaced in 1873, and sold to the Reformed Church in Pipersville, Pennsylvania. It burned, along with the church, in 1917."
Identified through online information from T. Daniel Hancock.
Webpage Links: 1771 Tannenberg Organ
Related Instrument Entries: David Tannenberg (1794) , Unknown Builder (1874)
Something missing or not quite correct?Add NoteorAdd WebpageorAdd Cross ReferenceorSuggest an Edit