Something not quite correct?Suggest an Edit
We are grateful for the generous support of our sponsors, who make it possible for us to continue our mission of preserving and promoting the rich history of pipe organs across the globe.
Something missing or not quite correct?Add ImageorSuggest an Edit
Something missing or not quite correct?Add StoplistorSuggest an Edit
Something missing?Add Console
From the NYC AGO NYC Organ Project: Construction on the church and rectory began in the autumn of 1890, and the cornerstone was laid in April of 1891. The church is 60 feet wide by 102 feet deep and 67 feet high from the ground to the apex of the roof, and the tower is surmounted by a spire that rises to the height of 193 feet. In the upper portion of the tower is a Seth Thomas clock, below which is an unusually large Chime of 16 bells weighing a total of 24,000 pounds that was cast by the Henry Stuckstede Bell Foundry Co. of St. Louis, Mo. The three-story-and-basement rectory adjoins the church and is 20 feet wide by 58 feet deep. The church has five entrances, a gallery that extends around three sides, and seating for 1,200 people. When St. Mark's opened toward the end of the 19th century, Bushwick enjoyed tremendous prosperity due to its brewery industry. In 1890 there were 14 breweries operating in a 14-block area known as "Brewer's Row," and Bushwick became known as the "beer capital of the Northeast." Following World War II, Bushwick declined as breweries ceased operations and residents moved to other boroughs or out of the city altogether. By the 1970s, Bushwick had become a haven for drugs and gangs. During the 1977 Blackout, Bushwick saw some of the most devastating damages and losses due to arson, looting and rioting. At the beginning of the 21st century, crime had decreased significantly, but the vibrant community of a hundred years earlier had all but disappeared and St. Mark's congregation had dwindled to a handful of members. In June 2011, the church’s .6-acre lot was listed for sale for $5 million.
The organ in the present church was originally built in 1892 by Carl Barckhoff of Salem, Ohio. As described in the Brooklyn Eagle (May 23, 1892), the organ had two manuals, a compass of 58 notes, and 1,589 pipes. To open the organ, a recital and concert under the direction of Alexander Riehm was given on Monday evening, June 6, with organist Henry E. Browne performing selections from Bach, Flotow, Rossini, Wagner and others. Also on the programme were the St. Mark's musical society orchestra, directed by W.C. Jagy, the St. Mark's male chorus, and a mixed quartet. In 1945, the Midmer-Losh Organ Company of Merrick, N.Y. electrified the organ and installed a new three-manual console that was prepared for a future Choir division. The stop-key console has 61-note manuals and a 32-note pedalboard, but it unknown if Midmer-Losh extended the manual and pedal ranks with additional pipes, or if the old Barckoff chests were replaced. The organ was unplayable in 2012.
Updated by Lawrell Arnold, who has heard or played the organ.
Identified through online information from Steven E. Lawson.
Identified through online information from Steven E. Lawson.
Webpage Links: NYC AGO NYC Organ Project
Something missing or not quite correct?Add NoteorAdd WebpageorAdd Cross ReferenceorSuggest an Edit