M. P. Möller
Opus R-664, 1961

Originally M. P. Möller (Opus 6185, 1934)

Crescent Avenue Presbyterian Church

Sanctuary

716 Watchung Avenue
Plainfield, NJ, US

115 Ranks - 7,541 Pipes
Instrument ID: 50836 ● Builder ID: 3912 ● Location ID: 19957
⬆️ These are database IDs that may change. Don't use as academic reference.EXPLORE IMAGESVIEW STOPLIST

Something not quite correct?Suggest an Edit

This instrument has multiple revisions:

IMAGES

Category:
Only show images in a specific category ☝️

Something missing or not quite correct?Add ImageorSuggest an Edit

STOPLISTS

Selected Item:
View additional stoplist entries if they exist ☝️

Something missing or not quite correct?Add StoplistorSuggest an Edit

CONSOLES

Selected Item:
View additional console entries if they exist ☝️

Builder: M. P. Möller
Position: Console in Fixed Position, Right
Design: Traditional With Roll Top
Pedalboard Type: Concave Radiating (Meeting AGO Standards)
Features:
4 Manuals (61 Notes)32 Note Pedal9 Divisions133 Stops96 RegistersElectrical Key ActionElectrical Stop Action✓ Combination Thumb Piston(s)✓ Combination Toe Piston(s)✓ Coupler Thumb Piston(s)✓ Coupler Toe Piston(s)✓ Sforzando Thumb Piston(s)✓ Sforzando Toe Piston(s)

Stop Layout: Drawknobs in Vertical Rows on Angled Jambs
Expression Type: Balanced Expression Shoes/Pedals (Meeting AGO Standards)
Combination Action: Adjustable Combination Pistons
Control System: Unknown or N/A

Something missing or not quite correct?Add ConsoleorSuggest an Edit

DETAILS

Switch between notes, documents, audio, and blowers ☝️

Database Manager on January 21st, 2013:

Updated through online information from Jeff Scofield -- Four divisions of 64 ranks located in gallery, including full-length 32' Trombone; five divisions of 51 ranks and 32' Bourdon located in Chancel; the massive console was located on the second floor level, like at the Cathedral of St. John the Divine, and accessed through the music director's office on that floor; the unique stopjamb layout had the Gallery stops on one side and the Chancel on the other, with the drawknobs in old English gothic-style lettering; thanks to R. O. Whitelegg, the organ had a glorious English sound and the church was a mecca for musicians for decades due to the weekly Sunday late afternoon concerts directed or organized by the music director, Dr. Charlotte Lockwood (Matthewson) Garden.


Database Manager on January 15th, 2013:

This is a rebuild of an existing organ.
Identified by Jeff Scofield, using information found in Factory specifications.
-- The contract was for the rebuilding, moving (inside the nave) and enlarging of 1934 4/97 Whitelegg Moller Op. 6185; a new Austin console was added ca. 1985; the organ was rebuilt and drastically altered by Gilbert F. Adams 2002-2006.

Related Instrument Entries: M. P. Möller (Opus 6185, 1934) , Gilbert F. Adams (2006)

Something missing or not quite correct?Add NoteorAdd WebpageorAdd Cross ReferenceorSuggest an Edit

Pipe Organ Database

A project of the Organ Historical Society