Lyon & Healy
1901 ca.

St. Andrew Roman Catholic Church

240 S. 6th Street
Richmond, IN, US

Instrument ID: 52952 ● Builder ID: 3906 ● Location ID: 46146
⬆️ These are database IDs that may change. Don't use as academic reference.EXPLORE IMAGES

Something not quite correct?Suggest an Edit

Plenum Organ Company

🤝 Instrument entries in Illinois sponsored by:

We are grateful for the generous support of our sponsors, who make it possible for us to continue our mission of preserving and promoting the rich history of pipe organs across the globe.

IMAGES

Category:
Only show images in a specific category ☝️

Something missing or not quite correct?Add ImageorSuggest an Edit

STOPLISTS

No stoplist details are available. If you have stoplists, please consider sharing them with us.

Something missing?Add StoplistorSuggest an Edit

CONSOLES

Selected Item:
View additional console entries if they exist ☝️

Builder: Unknown
Position: Unknown
Design: Unknown
Pedalboard Type: Unknown
Features:
3 Manuals

Stop Layout: Unknown
Expression Type: Unknown
Combination Action: Unknown
Control System: Unknown or N/A

Something missing or not quite correct?Add ConsoleorSuggest an Edit

DETAILS

Switch between notes, documents, audio, and blowers ☝️
This instrument is: Extant and Playable in this location

Database Manager on August 7th, 2014:

This entry describes an original installation of a new pipe organ.
Identified by Timothy E. Conyers, using information found in Church history printed in 1950.
-- St. Andrew's is the oldest Catholic parish in the city, tracing its history back to 1836, with services held twice a year. By 1845 services were held every two or three months by a visiting priest from Shelby County, Indiana. The Church continued to grow numerically until August 1846, when the first resident priest was assigned to the city and eventually a lot was purchased. In 1860 the cornerstone was laid for the present building.
On August 15, 1899, the Feast of the Assumption, the church burned leaving only a shell. It was rebuilt using the original walls and a new tower which included new bells and a clock. The construction was completed in 1901. This is the building still in use today.
A new Lyon & Healy 3 manual pipe organ was installed in the rebuilt church. It was placed in the rear gallery of the building. This instrument served the parish for several decades until it was rebuilt by the Wicks Organ Co. in 1947.

Related Instrument Entries: Reynolds Associates, Inc. (2008) , Wicks Pipe Organ Co. (Opus 2579, 1946)

Something missing or not quite correct?Add NoteorAdd WebpageorAdd Cross ReferenceorSuggest an Edit

Pipe Organ Database

A project of the Organ Historical Society