Unknown Builder
1923 ca.

Originally Goodrich & Appleton (1838)

Middle Street Christian Church

Sanctuary; front

Middle & 6th Streets
New Bedford, MA, US

Instrument ID: 68910 ● Builder ID: 6193 ● Location ID: 59646
⬆️ These are database IDs that may change. Don't use as academic reference.EXPLORE IMAGES

Something not quite correct?Suggest an Edit

Plenum Organ Company

🤝 Instrument entries in Massachusetts sponsored by:

We are grateful for the generous support of our sponsors, who make it possible for us to continue our mission of preserving and promoting the rich history of pipe organs across the globe.

IMAGES

Category:
Only show images in a specific category ☝️

Something missing or not quite correct?Add ImageorSuggest an Edit

STOPLISTS

No stoplist details are available. If you have stoplists, please consider sharing them with us.

Something missing?Add StoplistorSuggest an Edit

CONSOLES

Selected Item:
View additional console entries if they exist ☝️

Builder: Samuel Pierce
Position: Keydesk Attached
Design: Traditional With a Keyboard Cover That Can Be Lifted To Form a Music Rack
Pedalboard Type: Flat Straight
Features:
2 Manuals 3 DivisionsMechanical (Unknown) Key ActionMechanical Stop Action

Stop Layout: Drawknobs in Horizontal Rows on Terraced/Stepped Jambs
Expression Type: Balanced Expression Shoes/Pedals (Details Unknown)
Combination Action: Unknown
Control System: Unknown or N/A

Something missing or not quite correct?Add ConsoleorSuggest an Edit

DETAILS

Switch between notes, documents, audio, and blowers ☝️
This instrument is: Not Extant and Not Playable in this location

Jim Stettner on September 22nd, 2022:

This entry represents the relocating and installation of a used organ from one New Bedford church to another. Identified through online information from Bruce Gardzina. The organ was originally built for First Christian/North Christian and installed in the gear gallery. It was relocated to the front of the church and rebuilt by Samuel Pierce at an unknown date. The church suffered a fire in 1914 and was finally razed in 1923. The organ found a new home at Middle Christian.

Related Instrument Entries: Goodrich & Appleton (1838) , Samuel Pierce

Something missing or not quite correct?Add NoteorAdd WebpageorAdd Cross ReferenceorSuggest an Edit

Pipe Organ Database

A project of the Organ Historical Society