Something not quite correct?Suggest an Edit
We are grateful for the generous support of our sponsors, who make it possible for us to continue our mission of preserving and promoting the rich history of pipe organs across the globe.
Something missing?Add Image
Something missing or not quite correct?Add StoplistorSuggest an Edit
Something missing or not quite correct?Add ConsoleorSuggest an Edit
Updated through online information from James R. Stettner. -- Three-sectional facade containing 31 pipes arranged: 9-13-9. Facade pipes gold. Center 3 pipes in each flat has light stenciling/tracery. Simmons keydesk. Richard Bridge chests and some pipes.
The original builder was Wm. B. D. Simmons (1861).
Status Note: There 1978
Uses Gt. & Ch. windchest and some pipework of a 3m., 1756 Richard Bridge [Erroneously attributed to Adrian Smith in an 1845 newspaper article.] from King's Chapel, Boston, MA, including Goodrich pedal pipes added in 1824. Alterations by Goodrich in 1844. Rebuilt by Simmons (or Simmons employees) for Congregational, Ware, MA in 1861 (2-17rk) (case & 12 rks remaining in Boston). Moved here by Johnson in 1888. Renovated by Andover 1960-63 after water damage in fire. Rebuilt by Andover 1979 [chest tables replaced].
Webpage Links: Organ has rich sound, richer history
Related Instrument Entries: Richard Bridge (1756) , Simmons & Willcox (1860) , Wm. M. Goodrich (1825)
Something missing or not quite correct?Add NoteorAdd WebpageorAdd Cross ReferenceorSuggest an Edit