Geo. Kilgen & Son, Inc.
1894

Concordia College

Aula; Hanser Hall

1600 East Washington Boulevard
Fort Wayne, IN, US

3 Physical Divisions
Instrument ID: 74043 ● Builder ID: 2291 ● Location ID: 15099
⬆️ These are database IDs that may change. Don't use as academic reference.EXPLORE IMAGES

Something not quite correct?Suggest an Edit

Plenum Organ Company

🤝 Instrument entries in Illinois sponsored by:

We are grateful for the generous support of our sponsors, who make it possible for us to continue our mission of preserving and promoting the rich history of pipe organs across the globe.

IMAGES

Category:
Only show images in a specific category ☝️

Something missing or not quite correct?Add ImageorSuggest an Edit

STOPLISTS

No stoplist details are available. If you have stoplists, please consider sharing them with us.

Something missing?Add StoplistorSuggest an Edit

CONSOLES

Selected Item:
View additional console entries if they exist ☝️

Builder: Geo. Kilgen & Son, Inc.
Position: Keydesk Attached
Design: Traditional With a Keyboard Cover That Can Be Lifted To Form a Music Rack
Pedalboard Type: Flat Straight
Features:
2 Manuals 3 DivisionsMechanical (Unknown) Key ActionMechanical Stop Action

Stop Layout: Drawknobs in Horizontal Rows on Terraced/Stepped Jambs
Expression Type: Balanced Expression Shoes/Pedals (Details Unknown)
Combination Action: Unknown
Control System: Unknown or N/A

Something missing or not quite correct?Add ConsoleorSuggest an Edit

DETAILS

Switch between notes, documents, audio, and blowers ☝️
This instrument is: Not Extant and Not Playable in this location

Nathan Bienz on December 12th, 2025:

This organ was originally installed in the Aula (the combined chapel and auditorium) in Hanser Hall in 1894. In 1903, increasing enrollment led the college to wall off the western quarter of the room and convert the space to two stories of additional dorm rooms. As the student body continued to grow, the entire auditorium was converted to dorms in 1911, and the organ was moved to the Aula in Schick Hall (built in 1905). Like its predecessor, this new auditorium was a multipurpose space used for chapel services, concerts, movies, and general meetings. In 1943, the auditorium was remodeled into a dedicated chapel, at which time the Kilgen was replaced with a new Wangerin organ.

Source: Herbert George Bredemeier, Concordia College, Fort Wayne, Indiana: 1839–1957 (Fort Wayne Public Library, 1978), 257–258, 264.


Paul R. Marchesano on December 3rd, 2025:

This entry represents the installation of a new organ. Identified through online information provided by Nathan Bienz [2025-11-24]: The organ was a two-manual instrument costing $1,000 and was installed and dedicated in September 1894.

Related Instrument Entries: Unknown Builder (1911)

Something missing or not quite correct?Add NoteorAdd WebpageorAdd Cross ReferenceorSuggest an Edit

Pipe Organ Database

A project of the Organ Historical Society