Something not quite correct?Suggest an Edit
We are grateful for the generous support of our sponsors, who make it possible for us to continue our mission of preserving and promoting the rich history of pipe organs across the globe.
Something missing?Add Image
Something missing?Add StoplistorSuggest an Edit
Something missing?Add Console
This entry represents the moving and reinstallation of an existing organ for the same institution.
This organ was originally installed in the Aula (the combined chapel and auditorium) in Hanser Hall in 1894. In 1903, increasing enrollment led the college to wall off the western quarter of the room and convert the space to two stories of additional dorm rooms. As the student body continued to grow, the entire auditorium was converted to dorms in 1911, and the organ was moved to the Aula in Schick Hall (built in 1905). Like its predecessor, this new auditorium was a multipurpose space used for chapel services, concerts, movies, and general meetings. In 1943, the auditorium was remodeled into a dedicated chapel, at which time the Kilgen was replaced with a new Wangerin organ.
Source: Herbert George Bredemeier, Concordia College, Fort Wayne, Indiana: 1839–1957 (Fort Wayne Public Library, 1978), 257–258, 264.
Related Instrument Entries: Geo. Kilgen & Son, Inc. (1894)
Something missing or not quite correct?Add NoteorAdd WebpageorAdd Cross ReferenceorSuggest an Edit